Ultimate RC - Forum Archives

PDA
You are viewing an archive version of a topic

Click here to view the full version : How to remove the slightest bit of overspray?

Pages : [1] 2

SniperVII
2.07.11, 6:35 pm
I started painting my Slash and I have a very small amount of overspray on it. What is the best way to remove the overspray? Its away from the painted area and on the clear lexan but I want to remove it before I apply the next color. Is DOT4 brake fluid the best and easiest way to remove it? Thanks

SpeadFreek
2.07.11, 6:49 pm
Personally, id get some thinner on a rag (damp, NOT wet) and try to rub it off. Ive never heard of using brake fluid and i wouldnt use it because its very toxic (but then again, so is thinner). Whatever you end up using, make sure its not runny!

Also: Just to be more clear, you paint the INSIDE of your shell, not the outside. With that said, is the overspray on the outside of the shell? Or inside? If you got overspray on a color your wanting to keep, DONT try to get it off or you may wipe the other paint off too.

rekim
2.07.11, 7:13 pm
brake fluid does remove paint, i have used it on a plastic model, but as the person above said it is toxic, and it will soften the plastic pretty significantly. have you tried nail polish remover?

also, i dont know how it will react with lexan, i have only used it on plastic

SniperVII
2.07.11, 7:24 pm
It is on the inside of the body. There was a small section that wasn't fully taped closed and the overspray found its way inside the body on an area I didn't paint yet.

208BrAnDo
2.07.11, 7:43 pm
If you got the dot4 go ahead and use it. It will not harm your body in any way, you do need to soak it awhile though. If you have nail polish remover try that, it may be faster. If all else fails.... stickers!

tamiyafier
2.07.11, 10:37 pm
I've used dot four with great results. No reaction with the lexan, and the paint comes right off. I use a Q-tip to swab it on.

SniperVII
2.08.11, 2:17 am