Ultimate RC Home RC Forum RC Videos RC Photos RC Projects & others
Affiliate links:
Sign in:
"Experienced user"
kartracer25 - 8.28.16, 6:01 pm Post #1: | Reply With Quote
Hello everybody, this is my first post. I have been doing off road RC cars for 25 years. I am new to 4x4's. Just bought a Traxxas platinum slash 4x4, comes with a slipper clutch installed and a center diff as an option to install. What are the benefits of each?
"Suka Blyat"
alexulan - 8.30.16, 2:08 pm Post #2: | Reply With Quote
for me it seemed better handling / faster in the corners with the center diff.

I mostly bash on loose dirt. no racing.

I did melt the center diff so now i'm back using the slipper clutch.
I was also running very thick like 500K oil in the center diff.
There is an aluminum housing that you could buy so the piece won't melt.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Hot-Racing-T...UAAOSwp5JWV-bs
(Last edited by alexulan : 8.30.16 at 4:42 pm)
"Experienced user"
kartracer25 - 8.30.16, 7:47 pm Post #3: | Reply With Quote
Thanks for the reply alexulan, I have run both the slipper clutch and center diff, have not noticed any difference. What's weird is you melted your center diff, I melted the spur gear center on my slipper clutch, I had the clutch set too loose, too much slip equals too much heat. No racing for me either, I run on a track I built in my backyard, measures 60ft X 24ft.
"Experienced user"
pro mod steve - 8.31.16, 7:35 pm Post #4: | Reply With Quote
Just a basher here. I have had my slash 4X4 for about 4 years and used the slipper only. Get the revo upgrade with aluminum pads and keep the nut 1/4 turn out from full tight and let it eat.
Just a Basher
"Experienced user"
kartracer25 - 9.01.16, 8:07 pm Post #5: | Reply With Quote
So basically run the clutch locked up, no slippage. That seems a little harsh on the drivetrain, especially on my small track, where I'm slamming on the brakes and then back on the throttle several times a lap.
"Experienced user"