Ultimate RC Home RC Forum RC Videos RC Photos RC Projects & others
Affiliate links:
Not a Member Yet? You're Missing Out!
Sign up in minutes for a free URC Network account and you'll be able to post in over 100+ forum categories, search over a decade of archived topics, exchange private messages with other members, upload pictures to the RC photo galleries, and much more!

Already have an account?
Sign in below!
Sign in:
"Experienced user"
Djee-M - 9.23.09, 9:53 am Post #1: | Reply With Quote
Hi,

I have a Slash 1/10 stock.

I curently use 8.4v 5000 mah nimh batteries for it, but I've been told that they may shorten the motor's life.

If I swithc to Hyperion 7.4v 5000mah 25c Lipo, will I loose/gain power on my truck?
Will the kind of power these lipo batteries offer damage my motor?

Sorry I'm a noob.

P.S. I know that I will need a low voltage cut-off device for a Lipo

Thank you
"I'm down, like 4 flat tires"
JTrowser - 9.24.09, 6:04 am Post #2: | Reply With Quote
Your main problem with running a lipo on that truck is that XL5 ESC does not have a low voltage cut-off. Which is a must when running lipo's. I say keep running the 8.4 and have fun till the motor goes bad. Those motors don't last forever no matter what size battery you run. Not to mention you can replace that motor for about $20 on ebay (shipped). Just my opinion.
Youth is a circumstance you can't do anything about. The trick is to grow up without getting old.
Jammin SCRT 10 w/Novak, Hyper 10TT w/ VXL, LCG \Backslash w/ VXL & Protrac, T4.1 Team Factory w/ VXL, 2wd Slash VXL, OFNA Ultra MBX Comp, Parkzone Night Vapor, Parkzone Sukhoi xp, E-flite 4-Site
"Experienced user"
1000rrstunna - 10.01.09, 11:54 am Post #3: | Reply With Quote