Ultimate RC Home RC Forum RC Videos RC Photos RC Projects & others
Affiliate links:
Not a Member Yet? You're Missing Out!
Sign up in minutes for a free URC Network account and you'll be able to post in over 100+ forum categories, search over a decade of archived topics, exchange private messages with other members, upload pictures to the RC photo galleries, and much more!

Already have an account?
Sign in below!
Sign in:
"Experienced user"
autolockguy13 - 1.19.10, 8:39 pm Post #1: | Reply With Quote
hello everyone! i just got a redcat volcano sv for super cheap but i cant manage to get it to run. i am new to rc, but familiar with engines and how they should work, so my best guess is that its not getting fuel for some reason. if i put fuel in the carb it will start for just a second untill that fuel is gone, then shuts right down. i have tried to look at redcats website and others recomendations for general needle settings, but no go. i am also having trouble seeing/understanding where this 1mm opening is/should be in the idle setting. any recomendations for how many turns out on the idle? low speed is set at about 2 1/2 turns and high speed at around 1 turn for now. i am getting fuel to the carb, just not through it to the motor it seems. please help!
"Experienced user"
Messiah - 1.20.10, 2:26 am Post #2: | Reply With Quote
1 turn on your high end is too lean, its so lean its choking your idle. Close the high and come out 3 turns, that will be rich but its a start to tune on, factory Redcat engines, (made by Vertex) dont have low end mixes, and your idle screw should be cranked in enough to give about a 1/32" opening in the carb barrel, just set the idle where its smooth but the clutch doesnt engage/truck doesnt roll away at idle.
Chicks dig welders because we know all about hot, deep penetration.
"Experienced user"
autolockguy13 - 1.20.10, 4:57 am Post #3: | Reply With Quote
well i have both hsn and lsn. and of course the idle adjusting screw.
"Experienced user"