Ultimate RC Home RC Forum RC Videos RC Photos RC Projects & others
Affiliate links:
Not a Member Yet? You're Missing Out!
Sign up in minutes for a free URC Network account and you'll be able to post in over 100+ forum categories, search over a decade of archived topics, exchange private messages with other members, upload pictures to the RC photo galleries, and much more!

Already have an account?
Sign in below!
Sign in:
"Experienced user"
DiamondbuffaloE - 1.19.12, 2:40 pm Post #1: | Reply With Quote
I recently purchased an ECX Torment and love it. However, I want a better battery than the stock Nimh 7.2v 1800mah to power my new motor I ordered.The ESC on my Torment can run 2S lipos, but there is no LVC(low voltage cutoff) for lipos. So, should I purchase a LVC for lipo batteries or go with 8.4V nimh batteries(also compatible with the Torment)? Also, if I should get a LVC for lipo batteries, which one would work for my torment? Thanks, I'm new to RC's
"Experienced user"
MY750 - 1.20.12, 9:37 am Post #2: | Reply With Quote
I think you need a different charger to run lipo..( i am trying to figure this all out too since i am new to it) it is recommended a lvc be installed but some run it w/o one from what i understand
ECX Torment....Noob 2 the Game!!

2003 yellow gsxr 750. the air bender
"Title: "Custom User""
Bash_404error - 1.20.12, 9:55 am Post #3: | Reply With Quote
Actually I've read several places that the dynamite does have a LVC, but it's set rather low. You can also use a cheaper LVA (low voltage alarm) that beeps quite loudly to tell you it's running low.

Better is subjective... Lipo will give you more run time, and is lighter, and you get more constant level of power throughout your fun, vs Nimh start strong and tapper off quite steadily after that. But you don't need a new charger or to watch the voltage....

You do need a different charger to get started with Lipos. Look at the Thunder AC6 at Hobbypartz. Good price and good features.

Hope this helps.