Ultimate RC Home RC Forum RC Videos RC Photos RC Projects & others
Affiliate links:
Not a Member Yet? You're Missing Out!
Sign up in minutes for a free URC Network account and you'll be able to post in over 100+ forum categories, search over a decade of archived topics, exchange private messages with other members, upload pictures to the RC photo galleries, and much more!

Already have an account?
Sign in below!
Sign in:
"Experienced user"
scha0786 - 4.17.12, 8:08 am Post #1: | Reply With Quote
hi,

I am new to the sport and looking to get into the lipo batteries. Who makes a good 3s lipo battery for the traxxas slash 2wd for a reasonable price. Not a racer, just a backyard basher.

What is the lowest C rating I can go, i thought I read 20C somewhere?

Also, I will need a charger, thinking the ONYX 235 from tower is ok.

Finally, since I am running the lipo battery I was thinking of swapping my gearing to keep my motor cool.

19/90? or 19/86?

thanks for the help
"Experienced user"
erevo1*16 - 4.17.12, 12:28 pm Post #2: | Reply With Quote
if you want to actually keep the motor and esc cool...

19/90 on 3s with stock tires will net you about 37mph. it should be fine. but depending on outside temps... you'll still want to keep an eye on things.

The following brands of Lipo's generally have good reviews for general use:
Gens Ace
Ski Lipo
SPC
Turnigy

The C rate: you want to get as large a pack as you can justify to spend the money on.

I am making an assumption, but if you are talking about 3s, it sounds like you have a VXL???

If you are in fact running with a VXL system, I'd try to get a lipo pack that has at least a 150Amp rating.

To calculate the Amp capabilities of a general pack: Multiply the Cap (in Ah, not mAh... just move the decimal to after the first number. so a 5000mAh pack is a 5.0) by the "C" rate.

so a 5000mAh 20C pack is a 100Amp pack... (5.0*20=100)might be a bit weak.
but a 4400mAh 40C pack is rated for 176Amps (4.4*40=176)